Van Gogh Alive Manila

Starry Night, Bedroom of Arles, Irises, Café Terrace at Night – these are some of Vincent Van Gogh’s notable paintings yet there is so much more to see from his life’s work. I witnessed enlarged and projected versions of his art through a story, his life, in the Van Gogh Alive exhibition.

Known to be “the most visited multi-sensory experience in the world”, Van Gogh Alive made its way to my home city of Manila. It recently opened and will run until early December. It has been quite the talk with my family and friends, as I was planning to perhaps see the exhibit sometime within the next two or three weeks before the crowd rushes during its closing week. Surprisingly I visited it sooner.

“Bedroom at Arles” interactive display.

I walked around the room to capture different angles and viewpoints of the works as they flashed on walls, columns, and screens.

The show was inspiring. Van Gogh’s life was presented through the narrative of flashing the artworks along with classical music. His growth as an artist was reflected with how the styles in his paintings and sketches changed overtime, along with the subjects at times. The most unexpected part of the show for me was when some of his works at a point in his life had heavy Japanese influences.

2 thoughts on “Van Gogh Alive Manila

Leave a comment